Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need help with Disk setup (RAID1 vs RAID10) 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmcahren

Programmer
Dec 30, 2004
US
I am an application developer in an organization where we have no server experts.

My application (Essbase OLAP Server) on a PE6300, is experiencing performance problems, and the bottleneck is the disk (RAID10). I theorize that splitting the RAID10 set up into three RAID1 sets will work better (faster) because more disk operations will be able to occur simultaneously. I want to isolate the big databases from one another. Currently, there are 40 databases on the single RAID10 set, and when running database calculations, around 4GB of data is read/written to the set. If only one database is calculated at a time, it is fast. If multiple databases are calculated at the same time, the performance degrades severely.

Will splitting the RAID10 into three RAID1 sets improve performance for the concurrent read/writes? Do we need an additional or different raid controller? Backplane? Channels? How does all this work?

We have four 74GB 10k drives sitting on a shelf that we could install into this server too (there are unused drive bays in the case). Can I make them RAID1 sets too? Is there a limit to how many RAID1 sets that I can install on a controller? Will having a mix of 10k and 15k drives (in independant RAID1 sets) pose a problem?

Why is one controller unused? (see below)

My PE6300 has two disk controllers:

Controller 0: Ultra 160 SCSI Controller 0
Controller 1: PERC 3/DC Controller 0