Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need help on configuring a SAP 620 initial logon dialog box

Status
Not open for further replies.

zoomer01

Technical User
Nov 24, 2004
CA
I am running SAP 620 on a win 2003 DC at home. This is my first attempt to learn SAP (currently using it at work) but not for hell would it allow me to login! I have created a SAP_Share Folder and started the distribution service. However, I don’t really know how to configure the various settings on the logon dialog box.

The buttons are: Groups (system ID--, Message Server--, SAP Router for), Server (system id--, message server--), New (application server, sap router string).

Can anyone out there write the steps necessary for configuring these buttons? I, and others novice users I am sure, will appreciate the help.

Thanks in advance.

Hello,

try the 'New' button;
On my systems there are a few more fields than those you mentioned:

Name: <choose whatever>
application server: <your hostname>
sap router string: <leave empty>
SAP system: R/3
system number: <the number you entered when installing; default is 00 or 01>

good luck!

Thanks for responding to my request for help. However, unfortunately I did do what you asked but I keep getting the following message:

“partner not reached (host chad-wexler, service sapdp01) WSAECONNREFUSED: Connection refused”

“Error No. 10061; Return code -10; Method NipConnect2; Line 979; Module ninti.c”

It just wouldn’t connect so is there another suggestion?

I forget to also mention that I did configure the SAPConsole Administrator, in the control panel, with the following information: Hostname chad-wexler; System ID 01.