Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need help making a batch file

Status
Not open for further replies.

cornbread333

IS-IT--Management
Oct 1, 2003
JP
Hello all,
Well I didn’t know if to ask this question here or on the programming forum but either way please bare with me on this especially considering the fact that I am new to the field... Well my question is concerned with a basic batch file, I want to be able to write one to automatically make a back up on the server once a month, but I have failed in my attempts and the only bit of guidance that I do have is "Windows NT shell scripting" book which has proven to be nothing but confusing for me... I would appreciate any assistance that anyone might be able to give in this matter. Also I am sorry if i have provided to little information in the matter it would probably be due to the fact that i dont know what needs to be given.

Collins

Write your full backup command in a batch file (a file with extension BAT or CMD). So this may be just a file with ONE single line in it !
Says the batch file is named c:\user\mybackup.bat
Now schedule it to run with the AT command
Note that if your backup command needs to run 'under' a specific user identification, you will need to change the schedule service settings

well thx for the assistance Letay it was somewhat useful... well I have created a batch file that will run that backup on the server but my only problem now is trying to use the "AT" command to have the batch file run at a specific time and date... I have tried to fine references to the command other than the at/? in command prompt and have not found anything promising... as of now I have the command set up as...