Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

need help getting server started on unix - shared pool memory issue 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

focusdev

Programmer
May 9, 2007
US
I'm a newb to both oracle and linux, but I just installed oracle 10g on linux last night and everything seemed to be working fine until I tried to bring the oracle db back up today.

After entering the following command (which I assume starts oracle)
STARTUP OPEN PFILE=$ORACLE_HOME/dbs/init.ora
I get the following error
ORA-00371: not enough shared pool memory, should be atleast 62198988 bytes

The following settings were added to /etc/sysctl.conf as per the instructions.

kernel.sem = 250 32000 100 128
kernel.shmall = 2097152
kernel.shmmax = 2147483648
kernel.shmmni = 4096
fs.file-max = 65536

Focus,

Oracle typically runs with over 200 parameter settings.
Focus said:
The following settings were added to /etc/sysctl.conf as per the instructions.

kernel.sem = 250 32000 100 128
kernel.shmall = 2097152
kernel.shmmax = 2147483648
kernel.shmmni = 4096
fs.file-max = 65536
None of the 200+ Oracle parameter settings have their values set from the above Unix o/s settings.

You can confirm the current values of your Oracle instance's parameter settings by querying the V$PARAMETER data dictionary view. Following is a script, that I call "parms.sql", which I created to facilitate querying either specific, or all, Oracle parameter settings:
Code:
col p heading "Parameter" format a41
col v heading "Value" format a50 word wrap
set verify off
accept parm prompt "Enter a (partial) parameter name to display (or <enter> for all): "
select name p, value v from v$parameter
where name like lower('%&parm%')
order by name