Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need help for BMS - Web interfacing...

Status
Not open for further replies.

SimoneP

Programmer
Sep 19, 2002
IT
Hi!

I'm an italian mainframe programmer who's trying to integrate an already existing CICS procedure with the web intranet of the company I'm working in.

Other people developed this procedure, and I'm not allowed to modify the COBOL CICS DB2 programs, I can just modify the BMS maps to add something to the DFHMDX or add some DFHWBOUT to modify the graphic appearance of the HTML pages.

We're now using the 2.2.0 version of the CICS, and we've been stuck by a problem.

One of the maps has a group of rows listed and the operator can choose which one modify putting a 'M' in the only field of the row who is rewritable. There are 12 rows in a page, and if there are less then 12 records to modify the last ones are left blank.

In the BMS definition the selection field and the description field of each row are set with an initial of all '_', and when the COBOL program have to send for the first time the map it reads the records from the DB2, fills the rows with what it has read, and moves spaces to all the empty rows. But if I select a row and press the enter button, in the selection fields of the empty rows the returning map contains LOW-VALUE instead of spaces like it was in the sending. I've given a look to the HTML of the page, and I've found that the selection field is valorized as "" instead of " " like I expected, having moved SPACES to that field in the program.

the row present itself as shown:
<tr>
<td colspan=1 >
</td>
<td colspan=1 nowrap>
<input type=&quot;hidden&quot; name=&quot;F140020001_DA3FU05&quot; value=&quot;&quot;>
</td>