Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need help determining if my web host's service is spotty

Status
Not open for further replies.

rexolio2008

Technical User
Apr 24, 2008
US
I'm a classic ASP developer (a dying breed, I know) and know enough SQL Server to do my job. I'm not major server professional, although I can figure somethings out if given enough time and Google.

I'm having a hard time determining if the service I'm using (hosting service) is dependable. It was at one time. But recently the host changed co-location facilities and I moved. So I'm not sure if what I'm seeing is from him or from me.

FTP and website performance just stalls sometimes. Literally, nothing will budge. I click a link to go to a page on a site I'm building and nothing will happen. After a period of time, if I try again, it loads no problem. Same thing with FTP.

If I ask the host, he'll say things are fine. If I call my ISP (Comcast) they'll say that they're showing a great connection with my modem and it must just be my router (I have a brand new Linksys router).

I don't notice this with other sites. I've had the host tell me it must be something between me and him.

I don't know how to troubleshoot this and it's going to start costing me problems. What finally convinced me that it was the host was today. While speaking with a guy in Boston (I'm in Atlanta, host in Orlando) he said he tried to click on a contact page on the site I'm working on and it didn't move - the same thing I see all the time.

Can someone advise me how to trouble shoot this. I need to rule out my ISP and/or the host. If its the host, I have to move elsewhere.