Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need help creating ADO connection 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShawnCoutts

Programmer
Jul 4, 2006
CA
I am relatively new to ADO in BCB6, and have been unable to figure out how/where to start. I know that I need to make an TADOConnection object, but when i try to compile my code:
Code:
 TADOConnection ado = new TADOConnection(null);

I get an error: Undefined symbol 'TADOConnection'

do I need to include any library files? and which activeX component do I need to install to get ADO capabilities??

I usually drag and drop an ADO component onto my form so it's easier to set up. After all, that's why I like BCB. :)

If you want to do it manually, yes, you need the correct libraries. In your header file, use #include <ADODB.hpp> and you might also have to add #include <DB.hpp>. When I drop an ADOQuery component onto my form, both header files are added to my header file.

James P. Cottingham
-----------------------------------------
[sup]I'm number 1,229!
I'm number 1,229![/sup]

thanks a lot. Which activeX component do i need to install to get the ADO components?

and i guess i should also ask, does BCB6 come with the ADO headers? Because when i tried to compile it, i received an error stating: Unable to open inlcude file ADODB.hpp

Different "editions" of BCB come with different libraries. There are the personal, pro, and developer's editions. I have the developer's so it comes with all sorts of libraries that yours may not have. Sorry, I didn't think about that.

James P. Cottingham
[sup]I'm number 1,229!
I'm number 1,229![/sup]

Another thought. Does your version have dbGO?