Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

NEED help creating a dll.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ben146

Programmer
Jan 30, 2003
US
Hi all,i am new to programming so bear with me.i want to create a dll for counter-strike.i am using microsoft visual c++ ver.7 . i have the source files and header files for the hook.also three folders that came with it marked engine,common,and misc,i take it these are the source file for the game.my question is do i select new project >win32 then name it.the select dll then empty project to add my own files?if so do i only add the header and source files for the hook?or do i need to add the files in engine ,common ,and misc plus the hook files?if so does it matter what order?if someone could tell me how to do it i would appreciate it.im about ready to pull my hair out.also are there any special settings i need on the compiler to do this?

Hi, if your code is all contained within classes the easiest thing to do would be create an "extension" DLL. You go to create a new project and choose the MFC AppWizard (DLL) choice. A dialog should come up asking if you want a regular or extension DLL - choose extension.

Go under the project menu to "add files". Add your headers and source files for the classes to be in the DLL. Then change each class you are exporting in the headers and write this in their just before the class name:

[tt]
class AFX_EXT_CLASS SomeClass
{
};[/tt]

Compile the DLL. It should produce both the DLL file and also a .LIB file in the debug/release folder.