Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

NEED HELP ADDING NEW AREA CODES

Status
Not open for further replies.

NewbieAdmin

IS-IT--Management
Oct 28, 2002
US
HELLO,

I am new to the Definity system or lets say switches period. I am enrolled in a class in January to get up to speed but until then I need to know how to add area codes to the switch. In specific I need to add area code 269 to the system. I was able to figure out how to display the ars table and determined that 269 or 1269 was not on the list. We dial 9 to dial out and this is a long distance area code. In specific I need to know the commands to add this entry to the ARS Table and should I add 1269 or just 269. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Do a "change ars analysis 1XXX" where XXX is a working area code. Note all of the min/max/route/type entries. Press the "next page" button (ususally F7) and you'll see a blank table. Enter the 1269 and all of the other data copied from the other entry. Enter it and you should be done. -CL

Unless you have specific area codes that you want to block or restrict, you can also enter 12 on the ARS Analysis table with a minimum and maximum length of 11 pointed to the route pattern. That way all of the area codes that begin with 1+2xx are sent out. The LEC will stop any non-existent codes. You can do this for 12, 13, 14, etc.. Saves alot of typing, since no one can keep up with all of the new codes.

Kevin