Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need extension to ring at admin's desk first...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 23, 2004
US
Hi,

I'm very new to working with phone systems (IT background) so please forgive my ignorance. I'm trying to get x125 to first ring at the admins extension (x159) for three rings and then to ring 3 times at the normal extension and finally go to voicemail if not answered. I've tried to setup a line button with Primary Cover and use a delay on x125 but the admin's phone also delays before ringing. I did find an option on the server to enter a covering extension but that didn't seem to help. Any help is appreciated. System is Merlin Legend, Avaya Server, Lucent MLX-10DP phones.

Thanks, Dan

OK, forget the server, it has nada to do with this!

Put a PRIMARY COVER BUTTON for ext 125 on ext 159. WITH NO DELAY !

The default ringing patterns should allow calls to 125 to ring for 3 times at ext 159 before going to ext 125's mailbox.

Let us know how this works out!

Alright, this is weird. That is what I tried originally but both extensions ring at the same time (I believe 6 times total). There is no delayed ring on x159. Any ideas?