Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need explanations/ideas

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cstorms

IS-IT--Management
Sep 29, 2006
US
Hello all, I was curious if this is directly related to the way that Microsoft addresses memory in regards to 32bit Windows OS and the latter 64bit version.

I have installed and successfully setup dotnetnuke and there is an upload module. I know it is built in .Net but I am not a programmer so I know very little in that regard. However, I had a hunch that when I started receiving the error

System.OutOfMemoryException

I figured it had something to do with Windows 32bit memory limitations since I saw so many other people having this error with so many different applications. After installing the 64bit OS and setting up a site the same way I was able to upload everything and anything.

These are my findings....

32bit
When uploading files w3wp service was capped at around 330mb of ram usage (320 or so VM). When I would find a file that would not upload I saw that nothing would happen to the service and it would pretty much hang, then throw the error. I also noticed that the RAM usage did not recycle well when I designated it to within IIS, sometimes it would recycle but at this point it would not continue with is "pre-recycle" activity. Processor usage was minimal this entire time.

64bit