Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need brainstorming on going from IIS to Apache on Linux

Status
Not open for further replies.

HDumas

Programmer
Jun 5, 2001
CA
I have been using Delphi for over 4 years now in a Windows environment. With Delphi 7, I have been developping Intraweb apps that run on IIS in Windows 2000. All of those apps connect to Oracle databases with the help of ODAC(CoreLab) components.

I have been told that my organization is thinking of changing the webserver, going from IIS on Windows to Apache installed on Linux(probably RedHat). This would not change our LAN and workstations which would stay on Windows 2000.
I don't know enough about LANs and WebServer and some of my concerns might appear a bit dumb but I still would like your input:

1. Do I have to convert my Intraweb applications to Kylix?

2. If I develop with Kylix installed on Windows, will my Intraweb applications work when I deploy them on the Apache server which runs on Linux.

3. How about my D7 applications that have code like ShellExecute to get the mail or browser to open. Would this still work?

Any other input is welcome. Thank you very much in advance for any help.

Greetings!

I am not so good in the IntraWeb applications developing with Delphi help, but i'll try to help you using my quite experience in the Web applications development (ASP,IIS, ORACLE and SQL2000) and the Delphi as i know it.

First of all if you use your application as an external one (external stand-alone application) which uses data from the Oracle web server you'll not needed to conver it to OCX (Linux) compatible. I suppose its clear?