Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need A Remote Media Server

Status
Not open for further replies.

hatman

MIS
Apr 3, 2003
US
Situation:

I have a master server on my site and I'd like to set up a media server in another city. I'm running NB Datacentre 4.5. on windows platform. Me and my sister company has twin IBM 3583 IBM Ultrium librarys w/ 2 drives each. My master is connected via scsi directly to the library. My question is, If I have my master in my area, and set up a media server at the other site, should I set the "robot is controlled by local host" (their media server) or "robot is controlled by remote host" (my master) when setting up their robot? This brings up another question. If the robot is set up for master server (remote control), isn't that going to create a ton of WAN traffic? If it's set to be controlled by the media server... I'm assuming I can set up my policies and vault to still point to and control the storage unit(robot) once its configured, right?

I know I've got about 10 questions in here, but I want to cover all bases before I tackle this project. Thanks in advance for all responses

If I have my master in my area, and set up a media server at the other site, should I set the "robot is controlled by local host" (their media server) or "robot is controlled by remote host" (my master) when setting up their robot? This depends, will the "local host" (their media server) have a robot attached? If so, it will be controlled by the local host with the DB on the remote host.