Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

need a bit of explanation here

Status
Not open for further replies.

GroundZero

Programmer
Feb 1, 2001
CA
I am new at C++ and I was wondering what we really use pointer for?

Do we absolutely need them? I understand how they work but I see no point in using them.

Could anyone give a concret example of a situation where we really need pointers?

thank you in advance

GroundZero Your soul is imperfect
Life is difficult...

Now guess why we're here

Pointer is very useful...
You can do thing like this..

Without Pointer :
int a,b=7;
a=b; // Value in a=7 and in b=5;
b=5; // value in a=7 and in b=5;

if we want to make a is always replaced with value from b, we have to use pointer;
int *a,*b=7;
a=b; // Value *a=7,*b=7;
*b=5; // Value in *a=5,*b=5;
*b=9; // Value in *a=9,*b=9;

It's very simple example, but it's very useful.

That last example is not inclusive by any means. Pointers are very helpful, and also make it very easy to shoot yourself in the foot. There are many examples of things that you can easily do with pointers that are nearly impossible to do without them, including dynamic memroy allocation, linked lists (and other data structures), and so on and so forth.

Disclaimer:
Beware: Studies have shown that research causes cancer in lab rats.

Here is a concrete example of pointers . Suppose we have a program called MyCopy which copies one file to another. It could copy in binary mode "/b" or ascii "/a". Your program start with something like this . . .
Code:
int main (int argc, char *argv[])
{
  return 0
}