Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Multiple string parameters in PH

Status
Not open for further replies.

stillsteam

Programmer
Apr 2, 2004
SE
Hello
I'm trying to display multiple parameters in the pageheader but somehow I can't get it to work. I've tried with the formulas in the FAQ but they don't work. I'm not that good at writing formulas so it is probably me who can't adapt them to my needs.
There is no problem if there is a range parameter with the minimum and maximum, it displays fine.
It is string parameters.
I am using CR 8.5 and a SQL-server
Please help!

TIA
Jonas

Supposing you have a string parameter that can have multiple values, it should be sufficient to create a formula such as:

local numbervar i;
local stringvar s;
for i:=1 to ubound({?P1}) do
s:=s & {?P1} & chr(13);
s;

and place it in your page header. Do not forget to replace P1 with the name of your parameter and to make sure that the field's "can grow" option is properly checked.
The formula will concatenate all of your parameter's values to a string and then display it. Keep in mind that using CR8.5 your output is likely to be restricted to 255 characters (including the chr(13)s). So depending on the quantity and length of your values you might not be able to display everything you need. But perhaps somebody else comes up with another solution.

Regards

Thanks
BUT I get message saying "An array is required here" and it places the curser right next to my parameterfield
local numbervar i;
local stringvar s;
for i:=1 to ubound( {@Vilka varugrupper}) do
s:=s & {@Vilka varugrupper} & chr(13);
s;

Any ideas?

hm, that's strange. I tested this with our CR8.5 installation and it worked....