Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

multiple lines on a 66 block 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

pyroelectro

IS-IT--Management
Nov 22, 2010
US
i am trying to terminate 4 cat5e cables onto a 66 block and have two lines on each cable. how do i do this? the phones we are using only will detect 2 lines in each rj12

Terminate all 4 pairs of each cable down one side of the block, in the normal order (blue, orange, green, brown, lather, rinse, repeat). If you terminated your jacks 568-B then loop line 1 to each blue pair, and line 2 to each green pair. If you used 568-A then use the orange pair for line 2.

im sorry i am new at this. my phones have two rj12 jacks in them and can hold 4 lines while using both. my 66 block has the lines 1-4 going down the block. im not understanding how you say terminate down the block?? im very sorry but how do i terminate four cat 5 cables down the block and only use two lines on each since i am only using two phones?

Go here:
The picture shows a 66 block, and you will see on the left hand column it represents each of your 4-pair Cat-5 cables punched down White/Blue-Blue/White, White/Orange-Orange/White, White/Green-Green/White, and White/Brown-Brown/White.

So cable 1 takes up the first 8 rows, punch your 2nd cable down on the next 8 rows, using the same order of colors, then the 3rd and 4th cables.

Now you have one cable bringing in the 4 lines from the phone company, do the looping jumpers as it shows, color to color.