Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Multiple form "action" items, is it possible? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

peterv12

Technical User
Dec 31, 2008
US
I'm new to using HTML forms. I've got one working using:

Code:
<form name="form1" method="post" action="delete_in_form.php">

This runs the php code when a submit button is hit. I want to use several buttons, with each one executing a different php file. Is there a simple way to do that? I've done a search, but I've only found forms with a single "action" parameter. I appreciate any & all help.

Hi

You can not do that.

For an alternative JavaScript solution see thread216-1553880.

However I do not recommend it. Better keep the [tt]form[/tt] submitting to the same PHP script, then in that script do different actions based on which button submitted the [tt]form[/tt].

Feherke.

Thanks feherke, I had a feeling that doing it the way you suggest was correct. I just wanted to make sure it was the best way.

Just to make sure my brain is tracking Feherke, it would be:

original_form:

<form name="form1" method="post" action="processing_page.asp">
stuff in form
<input type="submit" name="Buy" value="Buy">
<input type="submit" name="Sell" value="Sell">
<input type="submit" name="Hold" value="Hold">
</form>

processing_page:
if request.form("submit") = "Buy" then
do one set of actions
end if

if request.form("submit") = "Sell" then
do a different set of actions
end if

if request.form("submit") = "Hold" then
do something entirely different
end if

??

Hi