Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Multiple 'details' fields on a report

Status
Not open for further replies.

martindell

IS-IT--Management
May 31, 2004
ES
OK, I know I'm being dumb but I'm new to Crystal and really stuck - I'd appreciate any advice on the following.

I'm creating a report to issue a statement of account to a customer. It needs to detail items ordered and payments received (often multiple instances of both) and work out whether there is a balance owed or overpayment (hah!)

I'm querying three tables, orders, items and payments, where rows on the items and payments tables relate to a unique order id row. Basically, payments and items know which order id they belong to so I'm reporting on items and payments that belong to a particular order id.

I can't get a report to work that displays all the payments AND all the items - either of them but not both at the same time. This is a subreport in itself otherwise I'd use a subreport to do this.

I've done all the help files and examples I can find but am getting nowhere.

Thanks in advance
Martin

Hi MArtin,

This sounds like a clasic Left Outer Join issue.
You firstly need to provide details on your version of Crystal and the DB that you are using...
Also some sample data on the problem that your see with the results that you expect is a standard requirement to get some detailed help.

But gererally, You need to link the Order table to the Item table using a left outer join and also line the Order table to the payment table again using a left outer join.
You can do this in the main report as long as you do not filter any fields on the right hand side, (The Items and Payment Table)