Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Multi format fields in DB2

Status
Not open for further replies.

khsaunderson

Technical User
Feb 16, 2010
GB
I am new to DB2 (coming from an MS SQL background) and am wondering how I can display the data held in a multi format field? I'm trying to access a table where one of the columns has char(30), but also holds some decimals. When I do a SELECT * on the table I just get the char fields back and not the decimals. How could I display the decimals?

Hi,
I've not come across multi-format columns before in DB2 and would be interested to see the DDL that defined the table. Is it possible that you could post a copy of it here.

Regards,

Marc

do you just mean the create statement? if so...

CREATE TABLE Tbl1
(
CODE CHAR (3),
DATE CHAR (6),
DETAIL CHAR (30),
TYPIND CHAR (1)
);

It's the detail field that is multi format.

OK, so the detail column as described to DB2 is NOT multiformat - it's a straight character column. If you decide to store data in it that is in a decimal format, that's a different matter. I guess that you can do this easily using a progamming language to redefine the column, but I can't think of any reason why that data would not then subsequently appear when selected.

might not appear if it contain null values in addition to the numbers. not a good thing to do, but not unlikely either.

Regards

Frederico Fonseca
SysSoft Integrated Ltd

FAQ219-2884
FAQ181-2886

might not appear if it contain null values in addition to the numbers.
There is no such thing as a "null value" in db2. NULL is the complete absence of a value.

In the DETAIL CHAR (30) column, there may be characters that cannot be displayed.