Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

MSCE Core design exams: Which to take?

Status
Not open for further replies.

unc92sax

Technical User
Nov 16, 2004
US
I am a security admin for a large enterprise in the Charlotte area and am studying 70-294 towards my MCSE. After this exam I only have one to go. I just can't decide which to do; Security Design or AD/Network Design. I really can go either way right now as I am interested in security, networking, server support, storage, etc. I love it all. So I guess my question is, all things being equal, which is generally in higher demand?

Thanks for any assistance.

unc92sax
MCSA, CCNA, Linux+, Security+

GO HEELS!

What other exams have you done? I would very strongly recommend against trying the 70-298 "Designing Security" exam unless you have prepared for/taken/passed the 70-299 "Implementing and Supporting Security" exam. If you haven't done the security material it will be extremely difficult to pass the 70-298.

On the other hand, most of the material for the 70-297 (I think that's the regular design exam) is already covered in the "core" 70-293/294 exams, and passing it should be much more achievable.

Of course, if you're interested in getting the MCSE:Security then by all means do so, but I would recommend doing the 70-299 first.