Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

MS Visual C++ vs. Borland C++

Status
Not open for further replies.

bitshifter05

Programmer
Jul 15, 1999
US
I am a college student, and just starting to develope C++ apps for windows. I have played around with both Borland C++ builder and Microsoft Visual C++, and was wondering which one was better and why. Pros and Cons if you will. Thanks in advance.

Kevin

I am going to give you my opinion. No data to back it up
BCB Pros
Closer to the standard than VC++.
Easier to use.
Being ported to Lynix, and other OS's.

VC++ Pros
Used by more people.
Supported by a LARGE corporation.

BCB Cons
Borland/Inprise on a precarious financial situation.

VC++ Cons[b/]
Never will comply with the standard since it is written to support only Windows.
Unlikely to be ported to other OS's.

Hi Kevin,

my 2 bobs worth.

I like VC++ its good (but i'm still looking for the visual part of it aka Visual Basic and Builder) i also like builder i have Builder 4 and VC++ 6 and VB 6, i think the coments above are fair comment. I've also heard that Builder will be ported to Linux so this could be interesting! you will be writing windows apps quicker in builder then VC++ ;-)

see ya
Robert [sig][/sig]

I've been trying to learn Visual C++ 5/6 for years and it's darn near impossible to do anything in it.

I fired up Borland C++ Builder 5 for the first time ever and I could make Windows programs as easily as in Visual Basic yet still have the power and speed of the C++ language. It has its quirks, but there's no doubt it's easier to program in.

- Chris