Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

MS Database from Linux Server 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

EITech

Programmer
Oct 15, 2000
US
Hello,
I am new to this forum and Linux. I am a database programmer, mostly MS Access. One of my clients is changing their network system to Linux. I can't seem to get a straight answer re: will client machines still be able to run Access (say they still have Windows, or have dual boot systems), if the database file is stored on a Linux server? I've done a bit of research and know that Oracle has a release for Linux now, so am wondering if I need to be planning to change the database to Oracle.
Thanks for any help & information! [sig][/sig]

Before we get into it, you might just want to set up a small dedicated Windows box just for hosting the database files. It can coexist just fine with a Linux network/gateway. It would probably be the easiest solution.

However... if the company is adamant about having NO Windows servers, then YES, it is possible, if the Linux server is running Samba. I am doing this right now with a client's network. Samba is an open-source emulation of Windows SMB network shares. (More info at
Basically, this means any Linux or Unix server can act as a Windows NT file server. This is transparent to the windows workstations on the network, meaning the user doesn't have to do anything different than he/she would normally do to connect to an NT server. Simply run TCP/IP networking, browse and connect to whatever directories have been shared from the Linux server, and they appear as standard shared Hard drives in Windows Explorer. Thus any shared file for MS Access can be placed on the Linux shared directory.