Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

MS Access Audit Trail

Status
Not open for further replies.

SUnderwood

Programmer
Nov 21, 2002
GB
Dear All,

I need to implement an audit trail mechanism into an Access 97 database, a function I know is not native to its operation. I've been delaying the idea for a few months because of the MAJOR recoding I envisage to implement it.

The audit-trail need only be simple, for each field in a record showing its previous value and its new value, the date and by whom it was requested to be stored in a string field, in say a table called [audit].

If anyone has experience implementing such a beast I'd be grateful to hear your suggestions.

Many thanks

Sean Underwood

Sean

I'm currently undergoing the very same thing myself. I've got the users stored in a table as they access the DB, all I need to implement now is the date, time, old field value and new field value! I'll post the salient bits of the code when I'm done.

Prof

Thanks for the support. I've searched the Tek-Tips forums for previous topics relating to audit trails and found thread181-122044 contained some usful discussions and good links to previous ideas for audit trail coding (faq181-291 titled transaction log is a good one).

Don't sweat too much yet...it's been done before. I think MichaelRed once posted some really good code for this (it might even be in a faq he's got in his profile). I know there's some code to do it in the knowledge base on microsoft's site.

Jeremy =============
Jeremy Wallace
Designing, Developing, and Deploying Access Databases Since 1995

Take a look at the Developer's section of the site for some helpful fundamentals.

Hi,

see also

FAQ181-2399