Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

movie speed

Status
Not open for further replies.

hellabrown

Technical User
Jun 26, 2001
US
I'm fairly new to flash and I have a general question. The default rate for flash is 12 f.p.s but during playback I see a lower value at times. Is there a way I can maintain a constant frame rate during playback so I avoid a choppy movie? Thanks in advance.

don't think the frame rate is changing from one rate to another..probably what is happening is that in certain areas of your movie you have to many tweens(or whatever)going on at the same time..try going to view bandwith while your in test movie mode and see if you can locate where your problems areas are..once you do that you can go in and adjust acordingly..that would probably be the first thing to do..like i said(though i could be wrong)i think it is impossible for the movie to change from one rate to another..seems that your processor is having difficulties with certain parts of the movie..

hope that helped..
e.gif

carlsatterwhite@endangeredgraphics.com

virst is right, there is absolutely no way that a flash movie will change frame rate. i deliberately tried to do that, but soon i learned that it is quite impossible. Could be a problem with your computer, or if u r viewing it from the net, your connection specially if u didn't put a preloader in it. :cool:

biggie X-)