Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Motherboard Longevity

Status
Not open for further replies.

mvachon

Programmer
May 22, 2002
US
I'm a software engineer who also handles a number of PC
hardware issues for our customers. We've supplied a number of units over time that were 486 based PCs. We are now trying to estimate how many of these older units may require replacement in the near future due to failure. Is there any information available that states how long [in general] a mother board should last in a given system? I understand that many factors such as environment, actual use time, etc. can effect this,
but even a ballpark figure would help us try to guesstimate the volume of replacement work we might be facing.

Thanks!

Good question! To be honest, I usually never let a motherboard live long enough to find out it's lifespan! In the fast-changing, ever-improving world of PC hardware, I've replaced plenty of perfectly functional mobos just to get ones that supports newer/faster/better hardware.
Having said that, I've seen lots of dinosaurs still running as good as ever.
I don't know of any research or statistics on this, and obviously keeping in mind the numerous variables that would affect hardware's lifespan, I'd ballpark it anywhere from 5 to 7 years.