Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Most Experienced IT Professionals say A+ Net+ a Waste of Time 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

chriss1563

IS-IT--Management
Aug 17, 2004
US
Whats going on here? Why do so many IT professionals say NO to getting an A+ and Net+ Certification? They say its a waste of money and time. Then why so many people still getting their A+ and Net+?

These so-called "IT Professionals" are snobs. Anything considered entry-level is beneath them. You see the same thing in academia from people with advanced degrees.

I am a strong supporter of Professional Organizations which allow like minded professionals to communicate, exchange ideas and resources and generally advance the industry as a whole. The number of organizations is quite large. Many are supoported by industry giving us even better access to industry resources. Here is just a partial listing of some of the professional groups I either support or belong to:

Instrumentaion, Systems & Automation Society Storage Networking Industry Assoc. Assoc. of Storage Networking Professionals CompTIA Electronics Technicians Association, International The Fiber Optic Assoc.
the list goes on...

Bottom line, your career is what you make it. If you spend your time listening to "what others say", you will fit right into their little shoebox and never reach your true potential. Break out of the box!

A+,N+,S+,L+,I+,HTI+,e-Biz+,CETsr,CST,CNST,CNCT,CFOT,CCNT,CCTT,ACSP,ISA CCST3

Amen, Glister.

JTB
Have Certs, Will Travel
"A knight without armour in a [cyber] land."