Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Modifying column values for a large db table 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

skurpyun

Programmer
Jun 19, 2002
US
Ok here's the situation that i need to resolve urgently. I have a table with 5 columns. One of those columns has data in it that should be encrypted that was erroneously left unencrypted. I need to go through 3000 rows and for each row, encrypt the value in that column. With me so far?

So essentially, i need to select that column, modify the value returned, and update the same column with the new value.

My question is how do i accomplish this? Being a web-focused programmer i immediately think of writing an ASP (or PHP) script that pulls the info out, modify it, then update the column. But, now i want to know if it's better (more efficient, faster, etc) to use a stored procedure, use PERL, or use any other method to accomplish what i wish to do, and how. Your input is greatly appreciated.

- sk

It's probably better you do this as a stored procedure but it would probably depend on what method of encryption your using. If you do use a stored procedure you'll need to look at using cursors as well so it might be something a little like this:

CREATE PROC proc_name
AS

DECLARE @COLUMN1 VARCHAR(40)
DECLARE @COLUMN2 VARCHAR(40)
DECLARE @COLUMN3 VARCHAR(40)
DECLARE @COLUMN4 VARCHAR(40)
DECLARE @COLUMN5 VARCHAR(40)

DECLARE cCursor CURSOR
FOR SELECT Column1, column2, column3, column4, column 5 FROM tablename

OPEN cCursor

FETCH ccursor INTO @COLUMN1, @COLUMN2, @COLUMN3, @COLUMN4, @COLUMN5

WHILE @@SQLSTATUS = 0
BEGIN

Encryption Method

FETCH ccursor INTO @COLUMN1, @COLUMN2, @COLUMN3, @COLUMN4, @COLUMN5

END

CLOSE cCursor