Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Modem bank setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheTraveler

Technical User
Dec 17, 2003
US
Hi everyone,

I am looking at setting up a modem bank using an 800 number for my remote staff to dial into the network. The problem is I have no experience in telephony and can't seem to find any info anywhere. I was wondering if anyone has any experience in setting up a modem bank and what software/configuration to use and such? Or maybe a good site to refer me to? Thanks!

It all depends on what you really need, how large your enterprise is, and what types of equipment you are familiar with.

For most small enterprises, a simple Comtrol RocketModem card or Equinox card with 4 or 6 modems installed in their server is sufficient for RAS.

If your network is somewhat larger, and you really need the 56K connections, a digital modem emulator in a Cisco 3600 with a PRI T-1 connecting in to it is a good solution.

For higher-end enterprises, a dedicated access server, like an AS5X00 or Ascend Max with 1 or more T-1s connecting to it is appropriate.

Of course I still prefer a VPN with the user getting their own internet access as a superior solution. It is generally less expensive and more secure.

pansophic