Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ML370 G1 Shutdown Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

musashi5150

Programmer
Oct 1, 2007
GB
Hi all, this is my first time here and I hope someone might be able to help me and my ML370 :)

We were getting along fine together until I upgraded her with a 2nd CPU (now has 2x Pentium3 1Ghz). She will quite happily run all day if nothing taxing is going on - but as soon as I hit 100% CPU usage on both processors she will shutdown within 10 seconds or so. No warning - just like the cable has been pulled from the wall. I have thermal sensors on both CPUs connected to LCD frontpanel (~28C idle and ~38C maxxed out).

Funny thing is that there was never a problem when running with only 1 processor. Replacing both VRMs didn't help. I suspected a PSU problem so I checked the voltages with a meter and they seem ok... 5v line is running a little high at 5.4v. But the voltages don't fluctuate when idle/busy.

Does anyone have any ideas? Now she has had a test of the goodstuff I don't think she wants to go back to only 1 CPU :)

Forgot to mention... I turned OFF the thermal protection in the BIOS (with SmartStart 5.5) so it shouldn't be that.

Do you have any errors reported in the Event Viewer (assuming the OS is Windows)? Also, does Insight manager give you any clues?

If you have the Proliant Support Pack installed, you should be able to go to the following URL in a browser and check Insight Manager:

http://servernameoripaddress:2381

--------------------------------------
"Insert funny comment in here!"
--------------------------------------

Sorry, forgot to say I'm running Mandriva Linux 2007.1