Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Missing Something Fundamental About Secuirty

Status
Not open for further replies.

lameid

Programmer
Jan 31, 2001
US
We have a Windows Server 2008 R2 Sever that people RDP into.

It's been a while since I was an admin, Windows Server 2003 and no remote desktop users. In any case I'm thinking file permissions are least restrictive except when a deny is explicitly set.

I as a member of the Administrators Group have permission to more or less everything explicitly. If I remove the Users group permission from the D: drive which I am also a member, I can no longer view the drive contents, access is denied which is counter to my expectation. I'm guessing this is related to some sort of login context surrounding UAC or similar change?

In any case I don't know what terms to read up on to point me in the right direction as to why that is the case to see my way clear.

Fundamentally, I wanted to remove the List Folders permission form the users group as this is undesirable for an entire drive.

Stay clear of using the deny permission, it is should be used very little.

"In any case I'm thinking file permissions are least restrictive except when a deny is explicitly set." If you deny, it supercedes less restrictive permissions..a royal pain to managed a system where deny is used frequently, there are very very few instances where it should be used. Lastly you should not be applying permissions unless you have learned the basics.