Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Missing Operating System

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gazzieh

IS-IT--Management
Dec 18, 2006
GB
Hi

I am new to Linux and wanted to add it to my dual-booting workstation at home. Prior to this I had just finished creating the system as a Windows XP and Windows 7 system.

Once these were installed I freed up some more drive space (about 40Gb) and then tried installing Debian. I used the downloadable ISO from the Debian website burnt onto a CD and everything seemed to go fine.

Then I was asked if I wanted to add Linux to the boot menu for "Windows Vista/Longhorn". I concluded that this would be a good idea and so accepted it.

I rebooted and got the Missing Operating System statement.

I retraced my steps but got no where so thought I would try reinstalling Windows 7 to shake the problem free. The installation CD was inserted and I set the BIOS to only boot from the USB-CD drive (after trying it as the first boot and my HDDs as second option).

I got the Missing Operating System statement again.

If I insert the Debian CD it runs fine; I will be trying the Windows XP CD later to see if I start from scratch.

The graphical Debian system reports:

IDE1 master (hda) - 82.0GB Maxtor 6Y080L0
> #1 primary 81.9GB B ntfs
> 8.2Mb FREE SPACE
IDE1 slave (hdb) - 120.1GB SAMSUNG SP1203N
> #1 primary 120.1GB ntfs
SCSI2 (0,0,0) (sda) - 160GB ATA ExcelStor Techno
> #1 primary 62.9GB ntfs
> #2 primary 50.4GB ntfs
> #3 primary 44.7GB B ext3
> #5 logical 2.0GB F swap swap
SCSI4 (0,0,0) (sdb) - 122.9GB ATA Maxtor 6Y120M0
> #1 primary 122.9GB B ntfs
> pri/log 8.2MB FREESPACE

It is SCSI2 (sda) that is the primary drive.

Any ideas?