Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Migration from NT4 to W2000 but still operating within and NT domain. 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pers

Vendor
Oct 18, 2001
AU
Can anyone suggest viable software tools to migrate an NT4 server to W2000 whilst still remaining in an NT domain ?

There are problems with BDC permissions (you can tell I'm not a techie).

I think you should give more details of your problem. Explain what how your NT domain is configured. Are there Windows 2000 Domain Controllers in it? Are there any Windows 2K servers yet.

Do you want this Windows NT 4.0 server to simply become a Windows 2000 server in the same domain? If this is the case, you can UPGRADE the NT 4.0 server to Windows 2000. First make sure that the server meets the minimum requirements. Next, make a full system backup of the server. After that, insert the Windows 2000 CD-ROM and UPGRADE to Windows 2000. After the process completes, your server will have the Windows 2000 OS loaded....and it will still belong to the NT 4.0 domain. It will continue to act as a member server.

If this Windows NT server is a domain controller, you will have to upgrade the PDC first to Windows 2000. This will automatically upgrade the NT 4.0 domain to Windows 2000 (In mixed mode).

Anyway, please give a few more details, and we'll try to help you out. (There are MS migration tools to move computer and accounts from one domain to another...but I don't think this is what you need based on the limited information you provided.)

-hope this helps. Joseph L. Poandl
MCSE 2000

If your company is in need of experts to examine technical problems/solutions, please check out