Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

MicroStrategy Vs. Business Objects 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

dabeaver

MIS
Aug 11, 2004
GB
Has anyone ever switched from Business Objects to MicroStrategy (or had in depth experience of both) and is able to give me an overview of features that are better in one than in the other? I am mainly interested in the report building side of things but would appreciate any comments on setting up the data source (or Universe as it is called in BO).

I've seen the MS Vs BO on the MS website but wouldn't mind hearing an unbiased opinion.

I can give an unbiased view of these two tools, having used both of them quite a lot in the last 2 years. I am a consultant, with no axe to grind, nor any partnership or encumbrance with either one.
[ul]
Business Objects Advantages:
[li]User interface for intermediate to power users is easier to use. Building simple reports is pretty easy in both, but with BO if you know SQL you can understand what you are doing. That goes for the universe design too.[/li]
[li]Llinked universes is very powerful, especially if you are selling SW that uses BO in the front end. It allows the customer to customize, and you to upgrade your core product.[/li]
[/ul]
[ul]
BO disadvantages:
[li]With SQL Server - bad code. It generates joins in the where clause, which in SQL Server 2000 will take a major performance hit. This will change with the new SQL Server, or so I've heard.[/li]