Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Microsoft vs Borland 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

hellferret

Programmer
Mar 15, 2001
GB
I am a VB programmer and I'm thinking about learning C. What are the differences between Microsoft and Borlands compilers?

Which would you suggest?
HF

I know that doesn't hit the question, but just to point You at another language, also.
Delphi.
It got lots of compiler advantages of C (well, it is a true compiler), but got an IDE simple to use as VB.
And I found out that lots of great innovations, C# presented, were always there, using Delphi.

The reason for moving to C is because of the obvious performance increase I'd get out of C, especially when throwing around large amounts of graphics.

How does Delphi stand up to C++ in the "who's got the bigger stick" stakes?
HF

if you compare Borland Delphi to Borland C++ Builder, their IDE/Interface is almost exactly the same, so they both hold up as keeping a VB interface, only one is the pascal language, and the other is C++ language.

If a good visual interfac is your key for ease, Borland C++ Builder would be your choice, if you are determined to do C++ over pascal. Karl Blessing aka kb244{fastHACK}
kblogo.jpg

Microsoft's compillers are much more reliable than Borland's compillers. John Fill
1c.bmp

ivfmd@mail.md

I think a combination of Visual Basic & Visual C++ would be a more standard approach in Microsoft world, and it's also easy: you use Visual C++ to write fast part of code, and Visual Basic to "draw" user interface. Again, I dont believe in Borland's solution in writing commercial applications, esp. when COM goes into the stage.
P/S: I used to be a Delphi fan before