Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

MFC MainFrame background color

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vachaun22

Programmer
Oct 7, 2003
US
I saw there was a post about this already, but it didn't help me. I'm trying to figure out how to change the WNDCLASS structure of an MFC application so that CMainFrame's background color can be altered. I'm not able to locate how to do this. Any help would be appreciated.

Also, I'm a newb to MFC programming and windows interface. Thanks in advance.

One way to change the background color:

Create a member variable in your .h file:
Code:
   CBrush m_windowBackground;

In the ::OnInitDialog() function add the lines:

Code:
   m_windowBackground.CreateSolidBrush(RGB(0x00, 0x00, 0xff));  // Blue brush

Then in the ::OnCtlColor() function add the lines:

Code:
   if (pWnd->GetDlgCtrlID() == NULL)
      hbr = m_windowBackground;

I hope this helps.

You probably could also change the HBRUSH parameter directly in the WNDCLASS structure in the start up function of your program.

HyperEngineer
If it ain't broke, it probably needs improvement.

HyperEngineer,

I partly understand what you are saying, and I'll definitely attempt using an HBRUSH. I've tried changing the hbrBackground member of WNDCLASS in the startup function, but I either get and Assertion, or it does nothing at all. So what I'm figuring is I'm either too dumb to register the new class and use it, or I'm just doing it completely wrong.