Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Message Alert Help 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Technical User
Nov 23, 2010
US
Hello, I am a newbie to javascript and I would like to make the code below stay on the website's homepage for as long as a viewer is on the site. I am trying to make the website as personalized as possible but I don't want the same viewer typing h/her name every time h/she goes back to the homepage. Thanks and any help is highly appreciated.

<!-- Start of Hello Visitor JavaScript-->
<!-- DESCRIPTION: This will ask the user for his/her name, then tell them WELCOME.

<!-- INSTRUCTIONS: Place this script below the BODY tag, before you start the content of your page.

<!-- FUNCTIONALITY: Works in both Netscape and IE.
-->
{
var name = prompt ('Please type in your name for personalized greeting','');
var color = prompt ('Please choose your color','');
document.write("<CENTER><FONT FACE=ARIAdL,VERDANA COLOR="+color+" >Hello "+name+", Welcome to Willamette Family</FONT></CENTER><P>")
}
//-->

Hi

Store them in cookies :
Code:
[b]var[/b] name[teal]=[/teal][COLOR=darkgoldenrod]getcookie[/color][teal]([/teal][green][i]'name'[/i][/green][teal])[/teal]
[b]var[/b] color[teal]=[/teal][COLOR=darkgoldenrod]getcookie[/color][teal]([/teal][green][i]'color'[/i][/green][teal])[/teal]
[b]if[/b] [teal](![/teal]name[teal])[/teal] [teal]{[/teal]
  name [teal]=[/teal] [COLOR=darkgoldenrod]prompt[/color] [teal]([/teal][green][i]'Please type in your name for personalized greeting'[/i][/green][teal],[/teal][green][i]''[/i][/green][teal]);[/teal]