Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Merge & position multipage PDF into Book Template

Status
Not open for further replies.

streetfox

Technical User
Oct 20, 2002
CH
Dear all

I am new to scripting and InDesign/Acrobat but my problem is quite old. I have attached a workflow that I am executing all manual and it is very cumbersome. And I cannot get away from the feeling doing something easy completely wrong here ;-) Please bear with me.

In text:
1. Take an existing multipage PDF
2. Either take page by page OR multipage (3 in 1)
3. Then take an odd and even page Book Template (PDF/Word).
4. Merge the template with the result from 1. by scaling, positioning and overlaying the source.
5. Print it out double sided.

I thought to ask you because maybe based on my lack of experience I am overcomplicating it.

Do you know how to do that easily? Up until a script which I could just run to do it for me? I am happy to read into more scripting but for this I definately need some good advice from somebody who already has done such a thing.

...not sure i fully understand what the goal is, but importing a multipage pdf into indesign can be done with this script:

...as for printing on a desktop printer, usually you would have to print out all even pages then turn the stack over and print the odd pages, which can be achieved in the print settings, then collate...

...a duplex printer helps avoid this process though.

andrew

============
============

Even Adobe Reader (free) offers the ability to directly print a book from the print dialog.

Okay, thanks. "Printing a book" is not going to make it. As it is a little but more than just printing a booklet. Thanks for the response.