Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Members Directory

Status
Not open for further replies.

colep

Programmer
Jul 18, 2002
US
I am new to Frontpage and my customer would like a password protected members area. He will be give the members a username and password so they can login in the the members area. How do I do this in FrontPage??? They don't need to register, I just need a to know how to have a login form that will allow them to see the members only pages??? If you have any suggestions, PLEASE HELP!!!!! I'm getting desperate.

Cole ;)

Actually, if the site is hosted on a server with FrontPage server extensions and the host has not blocked the ability to set permissions for a subweb - the best way would be to use the FrontPage permissions feature:

Create a subweb for the members area, then open it live with FrontPage and go to TOOLS > SECURITY > PERMISSIONS

If the host has FrontPage 2002 server extensions, the following tutorial will show you step by step how to set the permissions on the subweb:

Tiffany

Microsoft MVP - FrontPage

yes but you would probebly have to set the usernames and passwords manualy..

with a perl script you can have a register page where the users can enter there own details....

Aaron Taylor
John Mutch Electronics