Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

MDI - how to determine child form that called another child form

Status
Not open for further replies.

CraigBest

Programmer
Aug 1, 2001
US
I am new to MDI programming. I have a situation where I have a child form that an instance of is created when a database record must be displayed. More than one instance of this child form can be instanced at one time.

I also have another child form that is called from the first child form, an edit wizard form. This form is used to edit data displayed in the calling child (display) form, where the data is held also.

I am a little confused as to how I can keep a connection between an edit wizard form and the display form that called it if there is more than one display form open in the project. Can someone give me an idea of how this could be done? I have been through the MSDN disks and have not found a suitable answer.

You can declare a Public Form variable in the second child form to reference it's parent form through the Me keyword:

'in the edit wizard child form
Dim mfrmParent as Form

' Then in the first Child form
Dim frm as new frmEditWiz
Set frm.mfrmParent = Me

Mark

Mark, thank you.

May I ask a couple of questions, as I am not sure I understand completely.

You say to declare the Form variable as public in the EditWiz form, but you declare it as

Dim mfrmParent as Form

If declared in the General Declarations section of the form, does this not declare the variable as a module-level variable (Private) and not as a public variable? I am confused. Seems to me it should be declared as a public variable since it must be accessible from another form.