Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

MDF and SQL Server 7.0 Correlation

Status
Not open for further replies.

sapbucket

Programmer
Jun 30, 2002
US
Hello,

I am a newbie. Need help with SQL Server. Right now I want to add a databaseconnection to the SQL Server. Currently, the only connections that show up are the connections that came with installation (like pubs and northwind dbs). I want to add a new connection based upon a microsoft access dB that I created. Is there some type of connection Manager? Anyway, here is an example to simplify my question:

I have a Microsoft Access dB that I just created. I now want to allow SQL Server to connect to it so that I can use the dB in my code. However, Access saves my new dB as a Access file in some directory, not as a .mdf file that VB.Net and SQL Server can recognize. The server doesnt know that it exists: how do I get server to establish the connection?

I tried playing around with the "Export" function within Access. Didnt help much.

Doesnt it seem like this should be more straightforward? I am sure that this is a very common problem for newbies to solve.

Thanks for the help

You can try importing the tables from your Access MDB into a new SQL Server database or just go ahead and create the database on SQL Server directly. Sounds like you want to "link" from SQL to Access the same way Access can to SQL; don't think it's possible but could be wrong.

There are a couple of things going on here.