Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

md .bat command in XP when path has spaces?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lunatic

Technical User
May 8, 2006
US
Okay, 1. I'm not a programmer. 2. The last time I played with .bat files was somewhere in the late 90's and even then it was pretty low key as I never did get my door game BBS up and running, so I'm pretty out of the loop.

In W95 and W98 I believe path names were truncated at 8 characters in the command prompt, so Program Files became Progra~1. However in XP it appears that it states Program Files.

Which leads to my problem. I'm trying to create a .bat file that will auto-run when a CD is inserted (not a problem) and make a folder on the user desktop, and then copy the files in.

I'm having serious problems though creating the folder on the desktop.

md c:\documents and settings\$username\folder creates a folder called documents, with a subfolder 'and' containing a subfolder 'settings'... etc.

Is there a way in XP to use the md command for a path name that includes spaces? Is there another way to accomplish this same task? Or am I SOL?

Thanks!

Have a problem with my spelling or grammar? Please refer all complaints to my English teacher:
Ralphy "Me fail English? That's unpossible." Wiggum

Try putting the path inside quotation marks for folders/directories with spaces in them. I just tried this from a command prompt and it worked fine.

Lee

It doesn't create the folder in desired location. Its making the folder in the location the .bat file is at.

md C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Desktop\test2
and
md "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Desktop\test2"

Return the same result. I placed the .bat file in: