Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

MCSE2k/MCDBA/MCSE200x 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

careemind2004

IS-IT--Management
Jan 3, 2004
US
Hi All:

I have been MCSENT4 for several years, now I think everyone know MCSE-win2k is considered as the standard MCSE certf.

I dont want to be the IT techie who learned about all the networking stuff and ended up fixing people's phone, fax machine and copier, that is one of the reason I would like to go to database, the MCDBA, while I am still interest in learning about win2ooo AD, and later win2k3 and then evenually whatever new OS technogy Microsoft may throw at us in the near future.

I have little to none experience with database besides a 10 week oracle DBA training, since I never lived in the UNIX environment, I don't think oracle is a good way for me to go

anybody can suggest a material or study-plan to tackle MCDBA ?

also what you think is the average time per day one should spend to get a complete understanding of the material ?

any input ?

Thanks
CAREEMIND2004

sometimes hard to study every day... buying a couple servers (Pentium II 350 or better), loading IIS on one and SQL Server on the other and going through the MS training doco might be useful... probably need 200+ hours hands-on to be comfortable with, 500+ hours hands-on to feel proficient... 5 years "real world" to have respect of peers as an expert (by then it's starting to be automatic, but you've been working 7am to 6pm 5 days/week and on-call)

Assume you want more skill than minimum required to pass tests so you can get and keep a job...

Good luck!!

Setnaffa is an MCP-W2K (working on MCSE-W2K) with a few other certs, too...