Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

MCSE - Is it worth it and how to study ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

PGPhantom

IS-IT--Management
Nov 4, 2002
CA
I have been doing NT Administration now for over 10 years, have installed and configured over 1000 servers in NT4 and 2000. I have taken a class on almost every area of W2K but have still not bothered with my certification for MCSE.

Is it really worth it writing exams when practical should count more than a piece of paper or "Bragging" rights?

If it is worth it - Where do I start with training materials for overviews etc. I do not need to do everything as I have dealt with W2K since it's inception.

I heard that Transcender exams are good? Any comments?

PGP,
I have 5 years experience between NT and 2K and have been looking into getting my MSCE. Personally I think experience and good business references are far more valuable than any cert. Unfortunately, whenever I look at the want ads plain experience doesn't seem to cut it. It seems like no matter how much experience you have a cert will get you noticed even more. That is what got me started towards taking my MSCE. I have the win2k track on transcender and like it alot, but I also bought some books (examcram) to go along with it. I just dont feel safe trusting my test fees to just one source.

I wouldn't worry too much about the tests. With the experience you have, they should be a breeze. I got mine to help get a job, and it actually helped me land the one I have now. I read the Sybex books for each test. Anything that didn't seem right or I didn't quite understand I tested on a test machine.