Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

MCP certification

Status
Not open for further replies.

azpctech01

Technical User
May 6, 2003
US
I am thinking about getting my MCP. I just have a really stupid question. what classes or what books should I get to study for the exam?

Clueless

Depends on which exam you are planning to take. To earn the MCP, you need only pass one M$ certification test. Doesn't matter which one. Why are you looking to do this? Only asking to help narrow down which ones you might want to look at....

Thanks,

Matt Wray
MCSE, MCSA, MCP, CCNA

I'm still a newbie to this certification stuff..I'm A+ certified now..getting ready for the Network + test
I would like to say for resume enhancement..I have at least
a couple of years of hardware experience.
Are there preferred MCP certifications that employers like to see right now?

your best bet is either 70-210 or 70-215, Pro and Server.

Your best bet is to study for the 210 exam (which also prepeares you for the 215 exam)

Once you pass the 210 exam, spend a couple of weeks and study for the 215 exam and you should be able to pass it as well, since the questions are very simular.

Your A+ Cert can be an elective towards the MCSA, which is a step up from the MCP

The MCSA requires 3 exams plus the A+ cert (you can view the requirements at
But if you pass the 210 and the 215 exam you will be one test away from your MCSA (the only remaining test would be 218)