Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Master Page and CSS creation 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Halliarse

IS-IT--Management
Jan 8, 2007
GB
Good Morning and Help!!

Visual Studio 2012 / ASP 4.0

I am currently in the process of building a web-based software application and decided that the best way to start was to create all of my indivisual pages and code first and then design the overall layout afterwards....I've since realised that this is not the best way!

I have done several days research on how to create a master page and external CSS file and I'm not getting anywhere....I am VERY new to this and I need a point in the right direction!

I have attached a screenshot of what I am trying to acheive in terms of a basic layout! All I'm after is a header that contains and image and a menu selection, a left panel that will hold detailedd menu items and a centra panel which will be populated by the actual web pages and a footer. Whilst I'm not expecting someone to codee this for me, if someone could show me where / how to start I woud be a happy developer again!

Many thanks and apologies if I have not provided enough information!

Steve

http://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=37c8a29b-855a-4b96-9e3d-629240d741b9&file=Master_Page.JPG
Here is an example for you.
Master page:
Code:
<%@ Master Language="VB" CodeFile="MasterPage.master.vb" Inherits="MasterPage" %>

<!DOCTYPE html>

<html xmlns="[URL unfurl="true"]http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">[/URL]
<head runat="server">
    <title></title>
    <link type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" href="css/main.css" />
</head>
<body>
    <form id="form1" runat="server">
        <div class="BasicContent">