Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Massive upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.

staboogie

MIS
Apr 29, 2003
US
I am going to be upgrading my servers from NT4 to 2k3 in about a month. I'm in the planning stage and luckily I will be bringing in all new hardware. I know it's a general question, but I need to know what sandtraps not to fall into as I have never done this upgrade before and will not have any help. Thanks for any advice.

Sorry. I left out alot. I will not be running Exchange on this new server immediately. It will be the Domain Controller and file server. If everything goes well, I will have 3 servers that I can upgrade and take a load off of the DC. I have about 60 users.

For 60 users I would do a clean install. This leaves you with a pristine install and unlimited time to get the new server tested, and online. The active directory for 60 users will place minuscule stress on the new server. As far as Exchange I would not run it on an FSMO DC, just about anything else is OK, place it on one of the other machines. Have another server as a DC, to duplicate the FSMO services, being DNS,WINS,DHCP etc, as soon as practical. Pick your new hardware carefully, you should have a Pci-x bus at 133 MHz or Pci express, matching raid controller, onboard Intel CSA network interfaces,if possible, good bit of ram, 1 Ghz minimum. A reliable tape unit on the FSMO is important.

Not recommending any particular machine, but the link below is a Dell with decent specs

Chernobyl disaster..a must see pictorial

OK, so you have 60 users, but how much data? How many shares? Are there a lot of permissions to duplicate? Do you CURRENTLY have Exchange?