Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Many to Many join but need one unique to one unique match - mysql newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacque

Technical User
Nov 9, 2001
US
First let me say what I'm working with is not optimal or preferred - (heavy on the sarcasm and lots of [hairpull3])
Also, I have limited table design experience and would great appreciate any help and/or suggestions and I'm fairly new to MySQL. I know there has got to be a way to accomplish this, I'm so close....

Here is the background of what I'm dealing with. (Sorry in advance for the length)
I have two tables - one contains call data and the other contains survey data.
Each has it's own id BUT there is no connection between the two tables except for date/time and there is a timezone difference between the two tables.
In the call table there are separate call time and date fields - both starting and ending and a field identifying that the call was transferred to a survey.
In the survey table there are separate call time and date - both starting and ending

My task is to create a linking table using the call end date/time and the timezone converted survey call start date/time to join on within a 0 to 5 second gap. This is the step is where I run into problems with the one to one unique matching. I have situations like the following where multiple calls can match multiple surveys.

Let's say I have two calls -
Call#1 9/1/2014 10:02:51
Call#2 9/1/2014 10:02:54

That can match two surveys -
Survey#1 9/1/2014 10:02:55
Survey#2 9/1/2014 10:02:56