Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Manage non-IP devices !!! 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

esamsalah

Programmer
Aug 19, 2003
EG
Dear All
I need you to advice me ...

I am a Java developer and I am involved in a project to manage microwave links

The M.W. links are connected to a Proxy Agent that translate between the MW Serial protocol and the SNMP protocol.

The managment base station is running OV NNM.

I have to build a customized solution to manage those M.W links using OV NNM.

I have been reading a lot of manuals ... I am losing the start point and schedule is beeing delayed

I think that I don't have the enough information ... So please help me and advice

Thanks

Hi esamsalah,

Which bit of this task do you need to talk about?

In general though: If you can build a script or program (Perl script I would suggest) to run on your proxy and collect the information from the serial connection you can then generate traps from within that script.

Mike

Want to get great answers to your Tek-Tips questions? Have a look at faq219-2884

It's like this; even samurai have teddy bears, and even teddy bears get drunk.

Dear Mike

Thanks for your response
The proxy agent automatically generate traps, it also ships with a MIB file that I have loaded into OV NNM

The problem is :
I need to make the symbol of the proxy act as clickable object; and when it is clicked a new window appears with the MicroWave link schematic diagram on it

Then ; I need to show some alarms on that diagram; the MIB file describes some parameters that could be read using snmp gets/walks

So:
1 – How could I make a symbol clickable?
2 – How to Show a new window with a background image?