Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Making a logo rotate.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chr1sUK

Technical User
Jan 14, 2004
GB
Hi all. Please spare me as I am a complete newbie to flash.

I have designed some logos for a website that me and a friend are making.

I want to make one of these logos rotate, but I have no idea where to start in Flash.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Hello...

Make it a movieclip, give it an instance name, and put this code on the same timeline that has said movieclip on it.

yourInstanceName_mc.onEnterFrame = function(){
this._rotation++;
}

This will be tied directly to the frame rate of the movie, so if you need to speed it up or slow it down, thats where it can changed.

Also, if you would like to speed it up without changing the frame rate, you can do something like this:

yourInstanceName_mc.onEnterFrame = function(){
this._rotation = this._rotation + 3
}

Hope that helps!

When talking about a rotating logo, don't you think that what Chr1sUK had in mind, was more of a spinning rotating logo (2D or 3D) rather than a simple rotation on the axis as you're proposing?

Well oldnewbie, what I do think is that you should be more focused on providing help to the person that asked the question, instead of taking shots at the other people that have provided posts. I think your second post would have been sufficiant to this thread, and been alot more befenifial to the group.

Sufficient maybe! And I don't care about what you think I should be doing or not. If I have something to say, I'll say it!

Yes oldnewbie, what you posted there is what I am after.