Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Mail not coming in to my server 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

tommishuck

Technical User
Feb 7, 2005
US
I have the following message and need some help with it.
I'm very new to exchange and can use all the help you great people can provide!!!!!!!!!

I have a couple of people, the President and CFO, that are both trying to have e-mail sent to them, but it is not coming through. I have no restrictions on the server,either incoming or outgoing. I tried to send something to myself to test this and rule out that it was the operator. Below is the message that I got when I tried to send a 8MB file to myself.

<chuck@test.com>:
64.19.xxx.xxx failed after I sent the message.
Remote host said: 552 4.3.1 Message size exceeds fixed maximum message size

Now I can not for the life of me see why this is first pointing to a different server. The 64.19.xxx.xxx is our IP, but it is on differnt server. We do have a firewall in place, and it was configured by a 3rd party. Any help with this would be great!!!!

Thanks in advance.

Does your ISP impose limits on mail sizes ?

It might be worth checking with them before fiddling with your Exchange settings.

If there is not limit imposed, can you send similar size attachments to other users?

MD

I have checked and they stated that it is not an issue on there side and that it is on my side. and no I can not send similar size attachements to other users (i have tried)

thanks!

Two places to quickly check...

In system Manager under Global Settings\Message Delivery\Defaults, see if there is a limit there.